The North Rhine-Westphalian Competence Network for High Performance Computing HPC.NRW

The North Rhine-Westphalian Competence Network for High Performance Computing (HPC.NRW) is a competent and thematically broad contact point for users of High Performance Computing (HPC) systems in NRW. 

HPC.NRW supports researchers, administrators and institutes in the field of high-performance computing. The competence network creates the personnel and organisational prerequisites for combining the expertise of the large HPC centres (so-called Level 2, or Tier 2) with the consulting services of smaller centres (Level 3, or Tier 3).

The competence network provides basic services for locations without level 3 centres and universities of applied sciences. For level 2 centres, a uniform, structured access for HPC users at all universities in NRW has been established. This promotes research and supports scientists.

What we offer

For researchers

We support researchers with questions in the field of high-performance computing. Among other things:

For institutes

If sufficient computing resources are not available locally, HPC.NRW can guide researches through their options and answer open questions. These resources are of particular interest to institutes:

For administrators

We offer the opportunity to exchange ideas with other administrators and are happy to offer advise.
The HPC adminday is a regular meeting of HPC admins from NRW where technical and organisational issues can be discussed in detail.

The HPC Wiki is a valuable online resource for HPC users, developers and administrators alike.


We are happy to help researchers, administrators and institutes by providing an overview of access options and advice on the efficient use of HPC resources.

Write to us at

©, Freepik
KarteRWTH Aachen UniversityUniversität Bielefeld Ruhr-Universität BochumRheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität BonnTechnische Universität DortmundHeinrich-Heine Universität DüsseldorfUniversität Duisburg-EssenUniversität zu KölnWestfälische Wilhelms-Universität MünsterUniversität PaderbornUniversität SiegenBergische Universität Wuppertal
Icon KontaktKontakt
Icon SucheSuche